I don't like the calendar system either as I feel limited in depth/scope. I will re-visit it as I have ignored it for years due to that. If I still find it doesn't feel like a fit then I will post back.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .